Inventory Description

Effects are personal possessions that were taken away from prisoners when they arrived at a concentration camp as, for example, wallets, identification papers, photos or letters. Money and valuable objects had been confiscated by the National Socialists at that time. For this reason, the effects are not of any material value in most cases, but of an enormous sentimental value for the family members. Predominantly, the former owners of the effects preserved at the ITS were political prisoners. They probably include members of all the nations whose countries were occupied by the National Socialists. The majority of them are Eastern Europeans. Jewish prisoners as well as Romany people, however, are only to be found in exceptional cases as most of the persecuted from these groups where killed immediately upon arrival, while their belongings were confiscated and distributed.

History

The collection of personal belongings held by the ITS is comprised of three distinct groups, each of which has a unique archival History. • Personal belongings received from the Central Office for Restitution in Stadthagen • Personal belongings received from the Bavarian State Compensation Authority • Personal belongings of unknown origin held by the ITS. The largest collection of personal belongings held by the ITS is that received from the Central Office for Restitution in Stadthagen in 1963. The collection was originally comprised of some 4,300 personal belongings from KL Neuengamme, but also 93 personal effects from the Gestapo Hamburg, 14 from The Central Bank of Schleswig-Holstein in Kiel, belonging mostly to prisoners of the Neumünster Prison, as well as personal belongings from Dachau and other unknown sources. In addition, the ITS received 6 crates of personal belongings of post-war detainees, these however were given to the „Deutsche Dienststelle” (WASt) by the ITS in 1973 as they fall outside the ITS´s mandate. The personal belongings received from the Central Office for Restitution in Stadthagen are dispersed among collections 1.2.9.1, 1.2..9.3, 1.2.9.4, 1.2.9.5 and 1.9.2.6. In 1963, the ITS received 339 envelopes containing personal documentation of Dachau Prisoners from the Bavarian State Compensation Authority, which in turn received these from its predecessor, the Bavarian State Commissariat for Political, Racial and Religious Persecutees. 170 of these envelopes were returned to their rightful owners in the same year. The personal belongings received from Bavarian State Compensation Authority constitute collection 1.2.9.2. The third and smallest group of effects held by the ITS is of unknown origin. 222 personal belongings belonging mainly to Dutch prisoners of KL Neuengamme were found in 1974 in one of the ITS buildings. These items, following the principle of alphabetical filing by surnames, were dispersed among collections 1.2.9.1, 1.2..9.3, 1.2.9.4, 1.2.9.5 and 1.9.2.6. Since receiving the personal belongings, the ITS has made continuous attempts to return these to their rightful owners. Over the years, 1,048 personal belongings were handed to various Red Cross societies of several States. More than 800 further personal belongings were returned by the ITS directly to the owners or their heirs.

History of Ownership

The ITS collection of personal effects is an atypical archival holding in two respects: First, it includes objects in the form of emotionally powerful possessions of former concentration camp inmates. Second, parts of this collection can and should be returned to the owners or their family members. A list of the former owners of personal effects for which the ITS has the owners’ names as well as information concerning the process of having objects returned to their owners can be found our web site (https://www.its-arolsen.org/de/das-archiv/effekten/liste-der-effekten/index.html#c4892, https://www.its-arolsen.org/fileadmin/user_upload/Dateien/effekten/Text_UEbergabe_Effekten.pdf). This site shows just the personal effects still housed at ITS, excluding effects returned to their owners or their family members. Originally, the collection contained some 4,700 personal effects received from the Stadthagen Office of Internal Restitution (more than 4,300) and the Bavarian State Compensation Authority in Munich (339). The Stadthagen Office of Internal Restitution entrusted the ITS with its tracing activities as the organization was dissolved. Most of these personal effects were secured by the British Military in CC Neungamme. A small number of items originate from the Gestapo Headquarters in Hamburg, as well as CC Bergen Belsen. The Office of Internal Restitution received from the German Red Cross further personal effects belonging to inmates of CC Dachau. Most of the effects received from the Office of Internal Restitution are wallets. The items received the Bavarian State Compensation Authority are mostly personal effects, which were taken from inmates in Dachau. In contrast to the effects received from the Office of Internal Restitution, these are mainly personal documents, letters and photographs. Most of the items belonged to inmates of CC Dachau and Neungamme, alongside with smaller amounts of items from Gestapo Hamburg, CC Netzweiler and Bergen-Belsen, as well as Amersfoort and Compiègne.

Other Finding Aid

Further information on the history of the collection may be gathered from finding aid B 1 - "Verwaltungsamt für Innere Restitution"..

Other Data

The goal of the ITS is to return the personal effects of former victims of Nazi persecution to the victims themselves or their family members. Additional information can be found on the ITS website. Loans of such effects to memorial institutions occur only under special circumstances. Following a successful return of the effects, the original owners or heirs decide if the the effects will be displayed on the "Digital Collection Online".The nationality of the original owners was determined based on extensive research of the ITS holdings.

Bestandsbeschreibung

Die Effekten wurden den Häftlingen bei ihrer Einlieferung ins Konzentrationslager abgenommen. Es handelt sich etwa um Brieftaschen, Ausweispapiere, Fotos, Briefe, Urkunden sowie vereinzelt Modeschmuck, Zigarettenetuis, Eheringe, Uhren oder Füllfederhalter. Wertgegenstände hatten die Nationalsozialisten konfisziert. Die Effekten haben daher in der Regel keinen materiellen Wert, sind aber von hoher ideeller Bedeutung für die Familienangehörigen der ehemaligen Eigentümer. Die Effekten einzelnen Häftlingsgruppen zuzuordnen, erweist sich als schwierig. Vermutlich sind Angehörige aller Nationen dabei, deren Länder von den Nationalsozialisten besetzt wurden. Die Mehrzahl unter ihnen sind Ostmittel- und Osteuropäer. Bei den Effekten aus dem KZ Dachau sind auch viele deutsche Verfolgte zu finden. Es gibt nur wenige Gegenstände von jüdischen Inhaftierten sowie Sinti und Roma. Angehörige dieser Verfolgtengruppen wurden oftmals sofort in Vernichtungslagern ermordet und ihr Besitz nicht verwahrt, sondern konfisziert und weiter verwertet.

Geschichte

Die Sammlung der vom ITS verwahrten Effekten umfasst drei verschiedene Gruppen von denen jede über eine einzigartige Bestandsgeschichte verfügt. Persönliche Effekten, die der ITS vom Verwaltunsamt für innere Restitution in Stadthagen erhalten hat Persönliche Effekten, die der ITS vom Bayerischen Landesentschädigungsamt (BLEA) in München erhalten hat Persönliche Effekten, die der ITS von nicht mehr bekannten Stellen erhalten hat. Die umfangreichste Sammlung von beim ITS verwahrten persönlichen Effekten erhielt der International Tracing Service 1963 vom Verwaltungsamt für innere Restitution in Stadthagen. Die Sammlung bestand ursprünglich aus ca. 4.300 Effekten aus dem KZ Neuengamme, 93 Effekten von der Gestapo aus Hamburg, 14 Effekten von der Schleswig-Holsteinischen Zentralbank aus Kiel, die hauptsächlich von Insassen des Gefängnisses Neumünster stammen sowie schließlich Effekten aus dem KZ Dachau und unbekannter Herkunft. Hierzu ergänzend erhielt der ITS 6 Kisten mit Effekten von Internierten aus der Nachkriegszeit, die der ITS 1973 an die "Deutsche Dienststelle" (WASt) abgab, da sie sich außerhalb des Mandats des ITS befanden. Die vom Verwaltungsamt für innere Restitution erhaltenen Effekten teilen sich auf die Teilsammlungen 1.2.9.1, 1.2.9.3, 1.2.9.4, 1.2.9.5 und 1.2.9.6 auf.1963 erhielt der ITS 339 Umschläge mit persönlichen Unterlagen von Häftlingen des KZs Dachau von dem Bayerischen Landesentschädigungsamt, welches diese von ihrer Vorgängereinrichtung dem Bayerischen Staatskommissariat für politisch, rassisch und religiös Verfolgte erhalten hatte. 170 dieser Umschläge konnten im gleichen Jahr an ihre rechtmäßigen Eigentümer zurückgegeben werden. Die persönlichen Unterlagen, die von dem Bayerischen Landesentschädigungsamt übernommen wurden, bilden die Teilsammlung 1.2.9.2.Die dritte und kleinste Gruppe der vom ITS verwahrten Effekten ist von unbekannter Herkunft. 222 persönliche Unterlagen, hauptsächlich von niederländischen Häftlingen des KZs Neuengamme, wurden 1974 in einem der ITS-Gebäude gefunden. Diese nach dem Alphabet geordneten Einheiten teilen sich auf die Teilsammlungen 1.2.9.1, 1.2.9.3, 1.2.9.4, 1.2.9.5 und 1.2.9.6 auf.Seit dem Erhalt der persönlichen Unterlagen war der ITS kontinuierlich darin bestrebt diese an die rechtmäßigen Eingentümer zurückzugeben. Über die Jahre wurden 1.048 persönliche Unterlagen an verschiedene Rotkreuz-Gesellschaften in verschiedenen Staaten abgegeben. Mehr als 800 persönliche Unterlagen wurden von dem ITS direkt an deren Besitzer oder Erben zurückgegeben.

Bestandsgeschichte

Der Bestand der „Effekten“ ist aus zweierlei Hinsicht ein untypischer Archivbestand: zum einen umfasst er Gegenstände aus dem Besitz von ehemaligen KZ-Häftlingen. Zum anderen gehören diese Gegenstände nicht zum Archiv des ITS, sondern sollen an die Eigentümer bzw. an deren Familienangehörige zurückgegeben werden. Informationen über das Rückgabeverfahren erhalten Sie auf unserer Website (https://www.its-arolsen.org/fileadmin/user_upload/Dateien/effekten/Text_UEbergabe_Effekten.pdf). Im Online-Portal des ITS werden die noch beim ITS verwahrten Effekten gezeigt. Sofern die Eigentümer einverstanden sind, dass die Abbildungen der ausgehändigten Effekten weiterhin zu sehen sind, wird der Vermerk „zurückgegeben“ ergänzt. Ursprünglich gelangten 1963 4.700 Effekten in die Obhut des ITS. Sie stammten aus dem Verwaltungsamt für Innere Restitution in Stadthagen (über 4.300) und dem Bayerischen Landesentschädigungsamt in München (339). Das Verwaltungsamt für Innere Restitution hat im Rahmen der Abwicklung seiner Rückerstattungsangelegenheiten die dort verwahrten Effekten an den ITS abgegeben. In der Mehrzahl waren es Effekten, die kurz nach der Befreiung des KZ Neuengamme durch die britische Armee sichergestellt worden waren. Ein geringer Teil der Effekten kam ursprünglich auch aus dem Quartier der Gestapo Hamburg sowie aus dem KZ Bergen-Belsen. Seitens des Deutschen Roten Kreuzes Hamburg übernahm das Verwaltungsamt zudem Effekten von Inhaftierten des KZ Dachau. Es handelt sich bei den Effekten aus dem Verwaltungsamt überwiegend um Brieftaschen. Vom Bayerischen Landesentschädigungsamt übernahm der ITS Privatsachen, die Verfolgten im KZ Dachau abgenommen worden waren. Im Gegensatz zu den Effekten des Verwaltungsamtes waren es hauptsächlich Papiere, Urkunden, Briefe und Fotografien, die im Landesentschädigungsamt verwahrt wurden. Zum Großteil handelt es sich um Gegenstände von Häftlingen der Konzentrationslager Dachau und Neuengamme. Daneben befinden sich Gegenstände einiger weniger Häftlinge der Gestapo Hamburg, aus den Konzentrationslagern Natzweiler und Bergen-Belsen sowie den Durchgangslagern Amersfoort und Compiègne darunter.

Andere Findmittel

Weitere Informationen zur Bestandsgeschichte können im Findbuch B 1 - Verwaltungsamt für Innere Restitution nachgelesen werden.

Weiteres

Ziel des ITS ist eine Rückgabe der Effekten an ehemalige Verfolgte und Familienangehörige. Weitere Informationen hierzu befinden sich auf der ITS-Webseite. Leihgaben an museale Einrichtungen erfolgen lediglich in Sonderfällen. Nach erfolgter Rückgabe bestimmen die Effekten-Empfänger, ob die Effekte auf der "Digitale Sammlungen Online" abgebildet bleiben.Auf der Grundlage weiterer Bestände des ITS konnte die Nationalität der Effekteneigentümer teilweise ermittelt werden.